Click Here!

Gentle-Touch Beta

Mamacita

Are you frantically cranking out story after story, too busy trying to get that next idea nailed down before it escapes to be able to go back and check for every period and comma? Have you looked at your story so many times that by now you might not be seeing those little mistakes? Is there a turn of phrase you just can't quite get to come out the way you want it, a word on the tip of your tongue you could probably get if someone would just jog your memory?

If so—I can help!

I'm an accredited beta for Harry Potter fanfics through Perfect Imagination. My job in the real world involves editing, too—research articles for publication in scientific journals—and I've been doing it for twenty years. Before that, I had a really excellent high school English teacher who did a thorough job of pounding spelling and grammar rules into our heads, especially mistakes that are most commonly made and how to correct them. I wasn't born with a silver spoon in my mouth, but I sometimes think someone must have handed me a red pen at a very early age, as I absolutely love editing other people's writing! I write my own fiction as well; I'm posting Harry Potter fanfiction here at AFFN and have other work (also HP) at FanFiction.net as Mamacita-san. My profile is at http://www.fanfiction.net/u/1056722/Mamacita-san. In addition, I'm writing an original novel for publication.

If you know your writing's weak in specific areas (conversations, descriptions, etc.), I'll work with you so you get an end result you're happy with. If English is not your first language, I can help—BUT PLEASE BE AWARE that the editing required may be rather extensive, and don't be offended. I want to help you polish your good story into a great one and also learn to recognize and fix your own mistakes so you become a stronger writer. I'll help you steer clear of melodrama—unless it's intended, of course, in which case I can ham it up with the best of 'em.