Click Here!

I Am Acting Normal

Psybee

So here's my situation. I'm a college student who works two different jobs to help pay for tuition. I get good grades, get along with my girlfriend, blah, blah, blah.

Well, last spring I went home to visit my family who I have not seen in a long time. Work kinda prevents me from doing that. So I come home and I find that my dad is sleeping in the basement and my mom's taken control of the upstairs bedroom. I notice but I don't say anything. I just want to have a good time at home. Well, on the day I was supposed to go back up my dad pulls me aside and says, "Things have really changed haven't they?"

"Not so much. Andy (my brother) is still fighting with everyone."

"Me and your mother are getting separated."

It's funny how words can ruin your whole weekend and, possibly, the rest of your life. Did this comment affect me? Fuck yes! I saw all my hard work go down the drain as I barely scraped a 3.0.

Fast forward to Fall 2007. Once again my visits home are sparse because of work but eventually I make home for Thanksgiving. I don't even close the front door when my brother warns me to say away from mom. I brush off his advice and go see her. We hugged before I saw her face become serious.

"You knew," she asks. I mentally shrug and wonder what is she talking about.

"Knew what mom?"

"You have a younger sister." Now there is something I have forgotten to state. My father has two other children, a daughter and a son, who live with their mothers, so I'm thinking she's talking about "Shelly", my step-sister.

"No," she continues, "You have a 5 year old sister that lives with Robbie (step-brother)."

Sigh

To make a long story short I went through the same cycle as in the Spring and C's greeted me when I looked at my final grades.