Click Here!

Need a Snarky But Helpful Beta? I'm Your Girl!

ClumsyPinkTiger

Hello, hello!

I realize that my newness to the forum and the site might act as a deterrent for some of you, but I'm interested in getting my feet wet here, helping fellow writers, and getting to know more of the folks that lurk about on the site in the process ^_^. In terms of qualifications:

-I have a Master's Degree in English from the University of Maryland. For those who are interested, I wrote my master's thesis on The Lord of the Rings. My areas of focus for my course of study were myth literature, digital humanities (video games as texts), and American Literature. I also have a very strong grounding in Le Shakespeare.

-I taught English Composition and creative writing to College freshman for two years. So, I can help you with everything from tense shifts to comma splices, to cohesion, all while kicking your ass and telling you to read the assignment sheets carefully. Kidding, kidding. Since then I've been dealing with business and technical writing, which is sufficiently more dull than freshman composition/creative writing. Somehow, when people get older and enter the work force complacency and crummy writing sets in. GRRR passive voice!!!!

In terms of my writing style, I've been through the upper-snotty-echelon of graduate level English and obviously know how to edit and assist with revision. Personally, however, I really enjoy juxtaposing unexpected and deliberately incorrect phrasings with high-brow language. For instance, statements like "that's some paradoxical shit, yo," and "hey bro, lay off the infinite recessions" would meet my aforementioned criteria. Now, the trick is to never over use this. Well, in any case, I do have an unfinished story posted at the moment. So, feel free to check that out. Needless to say I *know* there are still some mistakes that linger in the story, but it will give you a good sense of my fiction style.